dear future self

hey girl!

i hope you’re still learning and appreciating every single thing about yourself. your smile is perfect – keep using it to draw people to you, keep being a light that shines brighter among others. You’ve been taught that some of the things you do or say are weird. Pretty sure ‘weird’ will always be the synonym of ‘cool’ so keep doing you! And be the best you!

There’s so much I had to say to the littlest of us that I didn’t and couldn’t so I’m hoping I get to have an impact on you, the eldest of us. You’re obviously wiser than I am. I’m glad that my experience taught you what it did. And I’m glad that you’re still on a journey. I’m hoping that you’re still rooted in the word, and more on fire for the right things than you were a few years ago. I’m so proud of you, future self. I really am. I’m so glad you’ve come this far. That you’ve been able to withstand all those hurdles and finally overcome! Oh, look at you!

I’ve got one, if not two, thing(s) that I don’t want you to forget. My daily thoughts revolve around Him, and getting my life in check. I guess this is the age, isn’t it? I wonder what you’re all about, future self. What do you think about before you go to bed? What do you do in your free time? What would you tell me if I could hear your voice?

Do you remember the posts, the status updates, the tweets? You probably don’t. But if the thought makes you cringe as much as it does me then I guess we do have quite a few things in common. Please don’t forget? I don’t want you to forget the slight embarrassment you felt taking down some of those pictures of the two of you and deleting some of those posts on his Facebook wall where you claimed that you’d always love him. Did you lie? Did we lie? No. I’ve learnt that commitment is staying true to something you said you would do long after the feeling has departed. I lacked this. You, too, lacked this at the time. don’t do this again, future self. Remember that things change. Remember that you thought you wouldn’t “social medialize” your next relationship but you still did just that. Remember that it ended, like a lot of relationships do. They end. So until you’re 147% sure that he’s the one you’re gonna spend your life with, don’t post it, tweet it, tumblr it or whatever apps you’ve got now that I haven’t even imagined. [Edit in 2018: Post him and the two of you if you want to and when you are ready! The embarrassment shouldn’t matter to you if those feelings were real at any one point. A break-up shouldn’t invalidate the experience and lessons learned. Take it all in, learn and GROW from everything.] & for goodness sake, don’t give him husband privileges. Surely, this you know!

Secondly, keep empowering your fellow girls! I’m currently all about that because I see how much slandering takes place between girls. How some try so hard to put others down. that’s the thing, we don’t see that our unity can change the game! That by us loving & speaking life over one another, we are an unbeatable group! Keep being the girl that smiles when you’re being given a mean look. compliment her. Tell her what He thinks about her & if she doesn’t believe you, show her (Proverbs 3:15, Psalms 139:14).

yours unapologetically,

2015 self.

Leave a comment